Winberta Yao Travel Award

2023 Travel Award Committee

Shoshana Vegh-Gaynor
Instruction and Reference Librarian
Institute of American Indian Arts
Santa Fe, New Mexico

Rachel Castro
Assistant Librarian
University of Arizona
Tucson, Arizona

Greg Hatch
Head of Creativity & Innovation Services
Marriott Library
University of Utah
Salt Lake City, Utah

Larry Eames
Instruction Librarian, Kraemer Family Library
University of Colorado Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs, Colorado


To apply for the award, submit the information listed below in an email with “Winberta Yao Travel Award” in the subject line to:

Shoshana Vegh-Gaynor

Letter of application 
Indicating the conference for which the applicant seeks funding and addressing relevant eligibility and award criteria. Include a description of interest and expectations of the conference and its relevance to the applicant’s professional development.

Estimate of conference expenses and amount of applicant’s institutional funding.

One-page resume listing employment history, educational background, and professional activities. Include preferred mailing and/or e-mail address.


Applications for 2023 Closed

The Mountain West Chapter of ARLIS/NA (Art Libraries Society of North America) is pleased to invite applications for the Winberta Yao Travel Award. The recipient of the Winberta Yao Travel Award will receive $395, the cost of standard early rate registration for attendance at the 51st annual ARLIS/NA Conference being held in Mexico City from April 18-21, 2023.

NOTE: Applicants must be current members of ARLIS/NA-MW and ARLIS/NA and live in the Mountain West region (Arizona, Colorado, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming).

For further details, please visit the conference website at:

The Travel Award

This travel award was established in honor and recognition of Art Librarian Winberta Yao, a co-founder and the first president of ARLIS/AZ (Arizona). Winberta Yao worked at Arizona State University from 1975-1997, although her interest in forming a chapter of ARLIS began earlier, while she was working at the Phoenix Art Museum. ARLIS/AZ, established in 1975, became ARLIS/MW (Mountain West), when the states of Colorado, New Mexico, Nevada, Utah and Wyoming joined the chapter in 1997. Montana joined the chapter in 2003.


To encourage chapter and conference participation by supporting travel expenses for attendance at the ARLIS/NA annual conference or the ARLIS/NA-MW annual conference. If, for any reason, the travel award is not granted for the ARLIS/NA conference, the call for applications will be reposted before the next ARLIS/NA-MW annual meeting.

Award amount

The award amount for 2023 was $395. This award is dependent on Chapter member donations, and whatever additional amount the Winberta Yao Travel Award Committee, in discussion with the Chapter executive board, sees fit to add to the donations, each year.


Current ARLIS/NA-MW and ARLIS/NA member living in the Mountain West region including Arizona, Colorado, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming. Applicants must receive partial or no institutional funding toward ARLIS conference travel.

Award criteria

Preference is given to librarians and to students currently enrolled in or accepted into an accredited school of library and/or information science. Priority is also given to first-time attendees, and to those who are participating in the conference as a speaker, panel member, session moderator, session recorder, or ARLIS/NA committee member.

Conditions of the Award

Award winner must write and submit a report to the Winberta Yao Travel Award committee chair of conference activities and experiences for the chapter newsletter, The Mountain Ledger. This report should include an account of how the award helped the recipient’s professional development. Award recipients are strongly encouraged to take future committee and leadership responsibilities in the Mountain West Chapter.

Guidelines approved by Mountain West Chapter membership, 11/12/09

Skip to toolbar